Life Cycle stages of animals

There are four stages of the life cycle of all animals, however they vary significantly among species. The transformation process is referred to as metamorphosis.

Definition of Metamorphosis is a profound change in form from one stage to the next in the life history of an organism, as from the caterpillar to the pupa and from the pupa to the adult butterfly.

Stages of Metamorphosis for:

Note: You will need to learn to draw the life cycle stages for some insects.

A Butterfly

A Frog

A Fly

A Mosquito

A Human


Observe the growth of an animal of your choice. Explain its growth in size (height, mas, span, and girth) throughout its life stages.


Click the links below to download the PDF worksheets.